Episode 22: Y: The Last Man and Graphic Novels with Amy Diegelman

 

download

For this episode, we had special guest Amy Diegelman (@amydieg) of #girlgang (@jointhegirlgang) and Panels (@heypanels) with us to talk about graphic novels in libraries in general and Y: The Last Man in particular!

Readalikes for The Craft!
Ally Watkins of #girlgang
Bitch Planet
A-Force
Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra
Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
Game of Thrones
Runaways by Brian K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona, et al.
Young Avengers
Batgirl of Burnside
Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson et al.
Amulet by Kazu Kibuishi
This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

Musical Obsessions (Have you subscribed to our Musical Obsessions Playlist yet? Why not?)
Amy: “Our Own House” by Misterwives; 4 Non Blondes “What’s Up” cover
Anna: “Dancing Lasha Tumbai” from the Spy soundtrack
Carolyn: “Fool for Love by Lord Huron” by Lord Huron

Obsessions
Amy: Video games; Mass Effect
Anna: Essential Dykes to Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel
Carolyn: Orange is the New Black

Advertisements

One thought on “Episode 22: Y: The Last Man and Graphic Novels with Amy Diegelman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s